Friday, June 21, 2013

AD Doug Foote appointed to District board

New Richmond High School athletic director Doug Foote has been appointed  to the Ohio High School Athletic Association's Southwest District Athletic Board for the 2013-14 school year.

Mr. Foote replaces Mark Hughes, the retiring athletic director at Oakwood High School, as the AA representative to the SWDAB.

New Richmond AD Doug Foote
The OHSAA is divided into six districts with the Southwest District covering 15 counties stretching from Cincinnati to Indian Lake.

“I really look forward to serving on this board in such an important time with all the changes going on with Open draw tournaments, Turnkey process for hosting tournaments, Eligibility and competitive balance issues and much more," said Foote, who is in his 5th year as AD at New Richmond after 15 years as head basketball coach at Marietta College. He also coached basketball at Rio Grande University.

Western Brown athletic director Tim Cook also serves on the SWDAB board and servces as vice president.

"It's nice to have two Southern Buckeye Conference AD’s on the SWDAB board," said Foote.

Scott Kaufman from Lakota West High School was also appointed to the board as a Class AAA representative to replace Western Hills AD Jim Sherrard. Other board members are Andy Bixler, superintendent of Anna Local Schols; John Kronour, superintendent at Tipp City; Pat McBridge, superintendent at Newton Local Schools; Jonas L. Smith, athletic director for Dayton Public Schools; Jan Wilking, athletic director at Oak Hills; and Steve Zimmerman, athletic director at Nagel Middle School.

"Adam (Supt. Adam Bird and Mark (NRHS principal Mark Bailey) have been great to allow me to stay involved in the SWD Athletic Directors meetings and committees, the OHSAA meetings and the SWDAB as well as the SBAAC and the committees I serve on it," said Foote. "Some of our all day meetings will cause me to miss a few events at NR they have allowed me to serve which I think is very important for New Richmond and our league."